Co-Ser 502Kits, Standees & Wall HangingsMember LibrariesPlan of ServiceSLS Procedures Manual - Updated January 2014
This is the "Co-Ser 502" page of the "Information and Resouce Guide for School Librarians & Educators" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Information and Resouce Guide for School Librarians & Educators  

Click on tabs below to navigate through the School Library System's LibGuide.
Last Updated: Mar 23, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sls.fehb.org/content.php?pid=499293 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Co-Ser 502 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

SLS Services Brochure - Updated December 2013

 

Co-Ser 502 - Library Media Services

Coordinated Cooperative Collection Development (CCCD) is a plan to build library collections which meet the needs of individual libraries without unnecessarily duplicating the resources in the area. Each library builds and maintains a core collection of materials to support the curriculum taught in that school. Additionally, participating libraries agree to collect resources in subject areas which are not needed on a regular basis.

 

Interlibrary Loan Service provides access to resources located in libraries throughout the North Country. By completing an interlibrary loan request in their school library, users may borrow nearly three million items listed on ICEPAC, the regional catalog on the Internet. Participating libraries are provided with the tools to locate and process interlibrary loan requests including ICEPAC, the regional catalog on the Internet, ICICILL, the electronic interlibrary loan program, North Country Region Library Systems Directory of Libraries, and interlibrary loan envelopes.

 

Library Automation assists school libraries with the development and use of the OPALS online card catalog, circulation management system, equipment and interlibrary loan modules. In preparation for library automation, the School Library System converts individual catalog cards into machine readable cataloging (MARC) records. These MARC records are the foundation of the library automation system and are used to create the online catalog for each library. The School Library System also maintains an online union catalog of the holdings in each member library.

 

Online Databases provide access to a variety of online resources through the school library. Databases provide students and staff with access to full text information published in magazines and newspapers. Also available is a selection of art, history, literature, health and science databases. All online database licenses are in full compliance with copyright law. Therefore, as many articles as needed may be printed.

     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip