Co-Ser 502Kits, Standees & Wall HangingsMember LibrariesPlan of ServiceSLS Procedures Manual - Updated January 2014
This is the "SLS Procedures Manual - Updated January 2014" page of the "Information and Resouce Guide for School Librarians & Educators" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Information and Resouce Guide for School Librarians & Educators  

Click on tabs below to navigate through the School Library System's LibGuide.
Last Updated: Feb 17, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sls.fehb.org/content.php?pid=499293 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

SLS Procedures Manual - Updated January 2014 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

OPALS Automation

Library Automation assists school libraries with the development and use of the OPALS online card catalog, circulation management system, equipment and interlibrary loan modules. In preparation for library automation, the School Library System converts individual catalog cards into machine readable cataloging (MARC) records. These MARC records are the foundation of the library automation system and are used to create the online catalog for each library. The School Library System also maintains an online union catalog of the holdings in each member library.

 

 

 

Book Review

Since the 1986-1987 school year, the Clinton-Essex-Warren-Washington, Franklin-Essex-Hamilton, St. Lawrence-Lewis School Library Systems have conducted a book review project for their members. Member librarians agree to review complimentary books sent by book publishers. Six review sessions are held at locations throughout the North Country each school year. The area covered by the School Library Systems which participate in these sessions is over 6,000 square miles. Once all review sessions have been completed, the books are then placed in the school libraries as part of their collection.


A sincere thank you to the following publishers who participate in providing these complimentary books to area school libraries:  Candlewick Press, Capstone Press, HarperCollins, Houghton Mifflin Children's Books, Hyperion Books for Children, Lee & Low Books, The Lerner Group, Random House, and Simon & Schuster. 


The Writer's Handbook:  Reading for a Book Review

 

Online Databases

Online Databases provide access to a variety of online resources through the School Library System.  Databases provide students and staff with access to full text information published in magazines and newspapers.  Also available is a selection of art, history, literature, health and science databases.  All online databases are in full compliance with copyright law.  Therefore, as many articles as needed may be printed.  School Library System automation members receive significant discounts if online databases are ordered through Co-Ser 502.

 

OPALS Updates

Below are links to the most recent updates and newsletters with a description of what each entails from the OPALS Automation System.  Click on each link to view new changes and/or instructions.

OPALS Help Page

Update News - June 2015:  Genre - Featured Collections Utility, Additional Item Status Designations & Functions, User (Member) Data Entry Updates, Circulation System Enhancements, Temporary Resource Locations Management, Item Type Enhancements, Improved Report Functions, and Improved Sorting.

Update News - December 2014:  Portal Editing - Customize your homepage and create a portal that will keep your members coming back. These portlets make it easy to display & change RSS feeds, local weather forecasts, new acquisitions, local news announcements, Pathfinder and Weblink displays along with showcases for books and pathfinders.

Update News - September 2014:  More space in Circulation window, Daily loan/return stats with details, Color heading options in home page, Search filter for User Types in overdue notice options, Date displays when Item is marked missing, Mouse over discriptions in optional eBook Reader, Search tab for eBooks, Circ Stats include eBooks read or reviewed.

OPALS Newsletter - May 2014:  E-Book Management Module News, Seamless ILL Request, Reception, Loan Enhancement, FEH Database Authentication Service anouncement, SIP2 Protocol, Zotero.

Update News - May 2014:  Mast: Text & Color Modifications, Reserve Shelf Management, Drop down lists for for 852$c ‘Location’ and 852$k ‘Prefix’, 852- $c,$k,$3 Drop down Authority Table Editors, Patron Rights Enhancement, Home page app positioning enhancement.

Update News - October 2013:  Upload Thumbnails & Archive, eBook Manager, RDA – Data Display, Fountas & Pinnell Browser, Search by location (852c), Pathfinder Entries Counter, Circulation – Return transactions improvement, Auto-Update Union Utility – Exclude designated formats, OPAC Search Statistics, Owl & Beginners Interface: Add links to other resources.

 

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan Service provides access to resources located in libraries throughout the North Country. By completing an interlibrary loan request in their school library, users may borrow nearly three million items listed on ICEPAC, the regional catalog on the Internet. Participating libraries are provided with the tools to locate and process interlibrary loan requests including ICEPAC, the regional catalog on the Internet, ICICILL, the electronic interlibrary loan program, North Country Region Library Systems Directory of Libraries, and interlibrary loan envelopes.

 

If necessary, please contact the School Library System for ICICILL login username and password or ICICILL email login information.

 

CCCD

Coordinated Cooperative Collection Development (CCCD) is a plan to build library collections which meet the needs of individual libraries without unnecessarily duplicating the resources in the area. Each library builds and maintains a core collection of materials to support the curriculum taught in that school. Additionally, participating libraries agree to collect resources in subject areas which are not needed on a regular basis.
 

Documents and Forms

Various documents and forms that pertain to upcoming meetings or projects will routinely be placed in this section of the manual for 24/7 access.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip