Co-Ser 502Kits, Standees & Wall HangingsMember LibrariesPlan of ServiceSLS Procedures Manual - Updated January 2014
This is the "Professional Development/Webinars & Online Tutorials" page of the "Information and Resouce Guide for School Librarians & Educators" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Information and Resouce Guide for School Librarians & Educators  

Click on tabs below to navigate through the School Library System's LibGuide.
Last Updated: Feb 17, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sls.fehb.org/content.php?pid=499293 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Professional Development/Webinars & Online Tutorials Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

2017 NYLA/SSL Annual Conference Professional Development Opportunity

The Franklin-Essex-Hamilton School Library System is offering a Professional Development opportunity for a librarian to attend the 2017 NYLA/SSL Annual Conference – Make, Learn, and Inspire to be held in Buffalo, NY at the Millennium Buffalo Hotel from May 4-6, 2017. The SLS will recognize one school librarian who seeks to gain professional growth and leadership skills through continuing education provided at the NYLA/SSL Annual Conference. The funding will be provided by the Franklin-Essex-Hamilton School Library System for this professional opportunity and includes full registration and single-room occupancy. The chosen librarian will be expected to turn-key information and knowledge gained at the conference in a Professional Development Workshop for area teachers and librarians at the October 2017 Regional Staff Development Day; the SLS director will co-present with the chosen librarian.

Please find the application below, the deadline is February 17, 2017 by 4PM.

Webinars

Check back periodically as various webinars will be posted to this page.  If you are unable to view the webinar at the scheduled time, please sign up as you will receive the link to the archived event so you may view it at your own leisure.

  • Bring Your Lessons to Life with CCC! Streaming Media!
    Want to learn how streaming media can enhance the lessons in your textbooks? Or already have CCC! Streaming Media and want to learn how to make the most of it? Learn how to take your students on an educational journey using visual media to illustrate hard-to-grasp concepts, and learn how to use Bookmarks, Playlists and Citations to easily integrate videos into your lesson plans!

    This webinar is offered several times and will start on January 31, 2017 and run through February 28, 2017. Select the date and time from the drop down menu that works best for you.
  • Five Tips for Getting Blended Learning Right
    February 21, 2017 at 3:00 PM
    In this research-driven webinar, Julia Freeland Fisher, Director of Education at the Clayton Christensen Institute for Disruptive Innovation, shares key findings from her organization’s years of blended learning research, as well as lessons learned from the hundreds of school systems that the Institute has studied. She will cover both essential considerations for systems just getting started with blended learning, plus effective professional development and evaluation techniques for schools further along in implementing blended models. Participants will also get the chance to explore the Christensen Institute’s Blended Learning Universe, the largest national database of blended learning schools. The database features comprehensive and searchable profiles of schools around the country that are pursuing a variety of models aimed at transforming instruction away from our monolithic factory model to a student-centered one.
  • Fundraising Tips for Student Field Trips & Travel
    February 21, 2017 at 5:00 PM
    Would you and your students take part in more educational experiences outside the classroom if funding field trips and overnight travel wasn’t such a challenge? Join us to learn how to use grassroots fundraising to get the money you and your students need for a group trip. The Internet, online social networks, fiscal sponsorship, and an uptick in enthusiasm for youth-led projects make it easier for students to raise money now more than ever. That said, it can be tricky to weed through all these opportunities. In this webinar, Carylann Assante, Executive Director of the SYTA Youth Foundation, will share everything you and your students need to raise funds to support student travel and other educational projects.
  • RDA Lite: A beginning
    February 22, 2017 at 12:00 PM
    RDA Lite: a beginning is intended to introduce public service staff to how RDA is affecting the OPAC and explain the changes they are seeing in the catalog. Attendees will be able to identify RDA records when they see them in their catalog, and understand the “why” behind these changes.
  • Ignite Your Students with Passion, Creativity, and Energy
    February 22, 2017 at 1:00 PM
    This webinar presented by LaVonna Roth, the founder of Ignite Your S.H.I.N.E.®, is going to spark the passion, creativity, and energy in you AND your students. This presentation is a taste of the highly motivating and engaging FUNnote (aka “keynote”) that LaVonna Roth will be sharing at the 2017 Splash Conference. In this webinar, LaVonna will focus on self, heart (passion), and how to inspire and navigate to create the exceptional people our students are meant to be. Every child is gifted and talented in their own way! No student fits into a box. They are more than that! They are a whole child.
  • Self-Regulation in the Classroom: Helping Students Learn How to Learn
    February 22, 2017 at 4:00 PM
    As an educator, you know what you want for your students. You want them to seek out challenges, ask for help, resist distractions, and see mistakes as chances to try again. In other words, you want kids to be self-regulated learners. Self-regulation for learning (SRL) is the ability to effectively balance affect (how you feel), behaviors (what you do), and cognition (how you think) to pursue worthy academic goals. Teaching students to balance these three elements builds motivation, resilience, and college and career readiness. In this webinar, Dr. Richard Cash, Ed.D. will discuss doable, evidence-based practices to help students engage in learning, build confidence, set and manage goals, develop habits of thinking, do effective home study, and reflect on their learning. Dr. Cash will share real stories of students who achieved success through SRL skills; he’ll also provide a framework for both classroom practices and school-wide implementation.
  • Media Literacy: A Crash Course in 60 Minutes
    February 22, 2017 at 5:00 PM
    Let’s face it. Fake media is a hot topic in, ahem, the media. But it is also a hot topic in education. In November 2016, the Stanford History Education Group (SHEG) published Evaluating Information: The Cornerstone of Civic Online Reasoning, a study that revealed concerning results. Because students increasingly turn to online news to meet their research needs, it is more important than ever for educators to help them separate truth from fiction. In this session, USA TODAY Reporter Greg Toppo will join Michelle Luhtala, Library Department Chair, New Canaan High School, CT to discuss shifting trends in the news business and what teachers can do to help their learners sift through the information pool to find trustworthy journalism. This webinar will benefit librarians.
  • Strategies for Personalized Instruction and Implementation
    February 23, 2017 at 3:00 PM
    Summit Public Schools, a California-based charter school network, believes that personalized learning empowers teachers and helps students build the skills they need to succeed in college, career, and life. That’s why Summit is proud to share what they’ve learned in their own experience through the Summit Learning program, whose community now includes more than 100 schools, 1,100 teachers, and 20,000 students all across the country. In this webinar, Lizzie Choi, Chief Program Officer of Summit Learning, and a principal/educator of a school participating in the program, will discuss the journey of developing Summit Learning. She’ll cover what it looks like, and why each of its components (authentic projects, competency-based progression, and mentoring) are essential to empowering students to be self-directed learners and gaining the skills, knowledge, and habits to succeed.
  • Educating the Whole Child in a World of Silos – STEM, STEAM and Beyond
    February 23, 2017 at 4:00 PM
    n this webinar, you will learn how Riverview High School (RHS) became a top finalist for the 2017 FETC STEM Excellence Awards in the High School Division. RHS has found a way to enact the research and provide a student-centered personalized learning environment that balances consistency with freedom, and specialization with renaissance education. The structures and practices built into the school day combined with an essentials-extensions model of assessment to allow students to master critical content and explore individual passions that go beyond STEM, STEAM or STEAM-H. RHS students say that they are transformed when they do real work for real people, often working harder on projects that don’t even count, because they matter.
  • Gale Literary Sources
    February 27, 2017 at 2:00 PM
    Gale Literary Sources is the new cross-search of the Gale Literature products in Gale’s mobile responsive design. This innovative product will allows you to fully integrate primary sources such as poems, short stories, plays and speeches with secondary content such as criticism articles, analysis of particular works, and biographies on the different authors. Upon completion of this course, participants will be able to maximize the different search strategies, learn how to refine searches and topics using faceted search results and the "search within results" feature and use clusters to Browse topics that commonly occur in relation to their search term, which helps uncover hidden connections, or can be a helpful starting point.
  • Gale Collaboration Tools - Save it to Google or Microsoft!
    February 28, 2017 at 11:00 AM
    You may have noticed the Google & Microsoft sign-in on your Gale resources – join us in this webinar to learn more about how these tools integrate into user workflow!
    In this session we will show you how to download and edit documents in Google Drive & Microsoft OneDrive, how to download and install the Gale product Chrome apps, and post documents to go along with assignments in Google Classroom.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    February 28, 2017 at 2:00 PM
    Now with a NEWLY ENHANCED interface and dynamic functionality, GVRL is an online resource for electronic encyclopedias and specialized reference & non-fiction sources, also known as eBooks, for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office). This web-based training event will provide participants with an in-depth overview of the GVRL platform.
  • Practical RDA: An introduction
    March 8, 2017 at 12:00 PM
    Practical RDA: an introduction is designed for copy catalogers or anyone who does some cataloging work and would like to learn about RDA and how it affects them. Attendees will be able to identify the changes from AACR2 to RDA, and be better able to apply RDA principles in cataloging.
  • Literacy = Language Production: Going Beyond the Text & Embracing the Talk
    March 13, 2017 at 3:00 PM
    Too many use the term “literacy” interchangeably with “reading,” but the reality is that literacy is more encompassing: it is reading, writing, and speaking. Ensuring all students have mastered these capacities is perhaps the greatest challenge facing schools today – and it touches all disciplines, from language arts to social studies to science. How can we overcome this challenge and ensure our students are mastering all aspects of literacy? The answer is simple, although not easy: the production of language. It’s time to get students talking!
    Join Kevin Baird, Chairman of the Board at the nonprofit Center for College and Career Readiness, for an interactive webinar about the critical role of discussion and debate in building strong literacy skills. Kevin will delve into the latest research to outline priority steps and pragmatic strategies for leveraging the power of student talk in accelerating literacy growth.
  • Motivating the Gifted but Reluctant Learner
    March 14, 2017 at 3:00 PM
    Not all gifted learners are productive students. Not all are “A” students. Some perform exceedingly well in a single curriculum area but appear to be average in others. Some gifted students establish a perplexing pattern of doing well or doing nothing. Some are reluctant, even resistant, learners refusing to play the school game. In this webinar Dr. Diane Heacox, Ed.D. will explore well-documented research on underlying causes of low performance and create distinctions between non-producers, selective producers, and underachievers among the gifted populations. Teachers often struggle to reach students who actively or passively resist engagement in learning. This session will identify behaviors that distinguish students who are having motivational issues. Dr. Heacox will consider which behaviors are necessary for success in the classroom and how to remove barriers to learning, giving students more opportunities for autonomy.
  • Homework Help with NOVELNY
    March 20, 2017 at 3:00 PM
    This course will provide users with an overview of the best NOVELNY Gale resources to assist elementary, middle, and high school students with homework assignments. A practical and multidisciplinary approach will be used to enlighten attendees about the NOVELNY Gale resources students. Practice reference questions and student assignments will be provided to help teach the practical application of the database to real life student research. The attendees will be taught the most effective and efficient search strategies to obtain the best set of search results for patron questions and research.
  • The Public School in an Age of Choice: How to Compete for the Win
    March 20, 2017 at 4:00 PM
    The public schoolhouse is under pressure to compete for students. How do we keep the best and brightest choosing our schools? How do we ensure continued success? Drawing on lessons from global brands, we consider how to win the School Choice Challenge. This webinar will be especially valuable for administrators in public K-12 schools and districts.
  • Teaching Digital Literacy
    March 22, 2017 at 5:00 PM
    This webinar will focus on instructional strategies that help students increase their digital literacy. Michelle Luhtala, Library Department Chair, New Canaan High School, CT, will outline distinctions between media literacy and digital literacy, and highlight how each can be addressed in the classroom and through the library program. The program will also focus on digital collection development and how using library resources can promote critical thinking, improve reading skills, and help learners better understand the research process. This webinar will benefit librarians, and is a follow-up to edWeb.net Emerging Tech’s session, Media Literacy: A Crash Course in 60 Minutes.
  • Google Integration and Your Gale Resources
    March 23, 2017 at 3:00 PM
    Join us in this webinar to learn more about Google's integration with Gale resources! You can download content into Google Drive for use anywhere, anytime! Are you a Google Classroom user? Then you'll be glad to know you can share content to your Google Classroom stream with just a few simple clicks. We'll walk through all the new features and share ideas for making use of them. Gale is excited to partner with Google and integrate our resources into user's workflow!
  • Unstoppable Learning
    April 12, 2017 at 3:00 PM
    Sharing insights and findings from his book, Unstoppable Learning, Dr. Douglas Fisher will help you discover how systems thinking can enhance teaching and learning school-wide. Join Dr. Fisher for a live, interactive webinar that will cover essential elements to unleash student potential and adapt learning in response to students’ individual needs, strategies and tools to create clear learning targets, prepare effective lessons, and successfully assess instruction, and practical suggestions and recommended solutions to unlock classroom success for all learners across the curriculum.
  • Redefining Professional Learning for 1:1 Computing
    April 19, 2017 at 5:00 PM
    How do we prepare every teacher to maximize learning when every student has a device in hand? As districts increase computing capacity, there is an assumption that faculty will adapt. Often, “adapting” means that what teachers used to do analog, they now do digitally, but that doesn’t necessarily mean that they are reimagining learning for the new landscape. In this session, facilitators will share effective and replicable workshop ideas that will help faculty adapt their teaching for the 1:1 environment.
  • Support Library Professional Development with Your NOVELNY Gale Resources
    April 21, 2017 at 11:00 AM
    Whether you are brand new to the world of libraries or a seasoned veteran, your NOVELNY Gale resources can help make you a library rock star. Join us to learn how to use tools in your InfoTrac resources like publication search, sharing and more, to grow your knowledge of key trends and library discussions!
  • Using NOVELNY Gale Resources to Support Professional Development in your Business Community
    April 24, 2017 at 10:00 AM
    Everyone wants to grow professionally and your business community has excellent tools at their fingertips to help them do that with your NOVELNY Gale resources. The InfoTrac Collections and Business Insights: Essentials provide a variety of magazines, journals, and reference sources that can keep professionals informed and build their expertise. Join us to learn how to use these resources to their fullest potential with your business community!
  • Creating Positive Relationships: Practical Steps for Positive Classrooms
    April 24, 2017 at 4:00 PM
    A positive relationship is a prerequisite for learning. In the presentation, we look at practical steps for enabling positive classrooms, decreasing disciplinary issues, and engaging the left-out learner. This webinar will be especially valuable for teachers, administrators, department chairs and PLC teams.
  • Job Search Support with your NOVELNY Gale Resources
    May 4, 2017 at 1:00 PM
    Job searches can be an intimidating prospect in an already intimidating process. In this session we’ll share ideas for using your NOVELNY Gale resources to help job seekers research companies, industries, and interviewing and resume skills. Join us to pick up some new ways to assist your job and career seekers!
  • Microsoft Integration and Your Gale Resources
    May 9, 2017 at 3:00 PM
    Join us in this webinar to learn more about how to take advantage of the Microsoft integration in your Gale resources! We will be discovering how to export content to Microsoft OneDrive in a variety of ways and different ways to make use of the new tool. Gale is excited to offer this new integration with Microsoft OneDrive!
  • Powerful Partnerships: Libraries, Technology, and the Common Core
    In collaboration AASL and Achieve published a new action brief linking libraries and librarians to the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). Implementing the Common Core State Standards: The Role of the School Librarian is available for download on the AASL and Achieve websites. Join AASL in an idea swap led by the AASL volunteers who worked on the action brief with Achieve. Use this exchange to propel the school library program into the center of teaching and learning in the era of CCSS. Learn how to recreate the idea swap activity with your own school teaching teams. Prior to viewing the webinar, be sure to download the action brief. Presenters: Kathryn Lewis and David Loertscher
  • TeachingBooks.Net Webinars
    Invite teachers, librarians, faculty, and others to become masters of the TeachingBooks.net digital resources.
  • Booklist Webinars Archive Page
    The following link will take you to a list of archived webinars, hosted by Booklist.
  • Freedom of Information and Open Meetings Laws Webinar
    Bob Freeman, Executive Director of the NYS Committee on Open Government, provides an overview of the Freedom of Information and Open Meetings Laws and responds to questions. Mr. Freeman has been with the Committee on Open Government since its creation in 1974. He has addressed numerous government, public interest and professional organizations, as well as students of law, journalism, public administration and information science and policy.
  • School Library Journal’s FREE, on-demand webcast series on how the new Common Core State Standards (CCSS) are impacting your library, school and students.
    In these 6 one-hour, on-demand webcasts, library, literacy, and education experts from across the country explore how to effectively implement this nationwide initiative. You will emerge better able to navigate the Core’s challenges, to make the most of the opportunities it brings, and to be a leader in your library, school and community.
  • PreK-3 Digital Learning  
      
    PreK-3 Digital Learning is a free professional learning community (PLC) that hosts webinars and wide-ranging discussions on digital learning in the PreK-3 grades. This community will help you stay connected, share ideas, and get support from colleagues.
  • Emerging Tech: Using Technology to Advance Your School Library Program  
      
    Emerging Tech is a professional learning community (PLC) where school librarians can explore all the ways to integrate technology and 21st century learning into school library programs.
  • Leadership 3.0: Essential Skills for Innovative Principals  
      
    Leadership 3.0 is a professional learning community that will help school principals use Web 2.0 tools be innovative leaders, help teachers grow professionally, improve student learning, and improve communications with all stakeholders.
  • Developing 21st Century Skills in Next Generation Entrepreneurs
    Recent cognitive science highlights skills that are key supports to entrepreneurial behavior. Developing 21st Century Skills in Next Generation Entrepreneurs is a free professional learning community that will provide educators with a research base and strategies for developing 21st Century skills essential for next-generation entrepreneurship.
  • Game-Based Learning
    Game-Based Learning is a free professional learning community (PLC) that provides educators, game developers, researchers, and industry executives with a place to learn, ask questions, discuss topics, and share information about games and learning. The community hosts free webinars and live chats with leaders in the field that are highly engaging and interactive. Online discussions provide an easy way to continue the conversation and share ideas and experiences with peers across the country, and around the world.
  • College and Career Readiness
    College and Career Readiness is a professional learning community where educators can develop a better understanding of the Common Core State Standards and how to implement them in their schools and classrooms his is an online collaborative community where educators can receive and share information on how the Common Core State Standards help to prepare students for college and careers. Our series of free webinars, live chats, and online discussions will be presented by Kevin Baird, Chairman of the Board at the non-profit Center for College and Career Readiness.
 

New York State Library Announces Free Access to WebJunction Courses for All Library Workers and Volunteers

State Librarian Bernard A. Margolis announced today that the State Library has arranged with OCLC to provide free access to WebJunction’s self-paced courses for all library workers, volunteers and students in New York State.  The State Library has designated WebJunction as an approved provider of professional development required to maintain active New York State public librarian certification.  The free access is open now at learn.webjunction.org.

WebJunction continues to grow its learning content, programs, and resources on topics of high interest. Here is a list of what library staff can find on the site and throughout the year:

 ·         A catalog of free self-paced courses and curated webinar archives have been developed in collaboration with LibraryU, Infopeople, and other content providers. Seven new courses developed specifically for library workers have already been added to the catalog this fall. To access this content, simply create your free account at learn.webjunction.org.

·         Certificates of completion will be provided for courses finished or webinar archive viewed through the WebJunction catalog.

·         WebJunction hosts more than 20 live webinar sessions throughout the year--free online events that allow library workers from around the country and the globe to meet and learn from library leaders and fellow library practitioners. Attendees are eligible to receive a certificate of attendance.

·         Dozens of new articles on hot library topics written by WebJunction staff and library practitioners are published on a regular basis and highlighted on the WebJunction.org homepage.

·         Crossroads e-newsletter is broadcast each month, to announce upcoming learning opportunities and provide updates on what is happening in the library world. Make sure you and your colleagues are subscribed!

A NEW ONLINE COURSE “ Serving Library Users on the Autism Spectrum” is NOW available through WebJunction!

Whether you knew it at the time or not, you have likely interacted with or assisted a library user with autism, as it is the fastest growing disability. This course, designed by experts in both the library and autism fields, is a series of four independent, self-paced instructional modules that are intended for librarians and library staff to learn how to better serve their users on the autism spectrum.  To participate in the online course, please click here.


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip