Co-Ser 502Kits, Standees & Wall HangingsMember LibrariesPlan of ServiceSLS Procedures Manual - Updated January 2014
This is the "Home" page of the "Information and Resouce Guide for School Librarians & Educators" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Information and Resouce Guide for School Librarians & Educators  

Click on tabs below to navigate through the School Library System's LibGuide.
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sls.fehb.org/content.php?pid=499293 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Important Professional Development Dates

DMV Practice Tests

Do you know students getting ready to take their learner's permit test?  Then share this resource with your students!  DMV Permit Test is a website that hosts several practice permit tests for individuals to take in preparation for the real permit test.  The tests use similar questions that are on real permit tests, there's no registration required and the questions are updated regularly to reflect the most recent changes in road rules and traffic laws.  Click the link below to get started!

 

Three Apples Award is Back!

Launched in 2007, The 3 Apples Book Award is awarded annually in three different categories: Young Reader, Children, and Teen.  The award was developed to encourage the joys of reading for pleasure. What makes the award unique is that titles are nominated entirely by kids, for kids.

After reading or listening to at least three of the nominated titles, children and teens will vote in April 2017 for their top choice. Ballots will be made available and publicized beforehand for libraries to print out. Only librarians will have access to the Google Form where you will collate and enter the ballots received at your library.

Below are brochures with the nominated titles for each age category.  For more information, please visit the 3 Apples Book Award website

INNOVATION! Makerspaces in NYC School Libraries

The NYC School Library System has created a libguide for its makerspaces called "Innovation! Makerspaces in NYC School Libraries."  In addition to visual examples of Makerspaces at work, there are great resources, links to blogs, information about funding, and more available for everyone to use.  To visit the libguide, please click on the link below.  

 

A New Online Course “Serving Library Users on the Autism Spectrum” Available Now through WebJunction!

Whether you knew it at the time or not, you have likely interacted with or assisted a library user with autism, as it is the fastest growing disability. This

course, designed by experts in both the library and autism fields, is a series of four independent, self-paced instructional modules that are intended for librarians and library staff to learn how to better serve their users on the autism spectrum.

  The modules are:

  • About Autism in the Library

  • Arranging the Library Environment
  • Communicating with Individuals with Autism
  • Interacting with Technology

Research-based checklists, examples of materials, tip sheets, lists, templates, and additional resources are included throughout the course to assist you to implement best practices in your unique library setting.

Length: 4 hours

Please click here to access the online course.

 

SLS Favorite Quotes & Thoughts to Ponder

"My two favorite things in life are libraries and bicycles.  They both move people forward without wasting anything". -- Peter Golkin

"In books I have traveled, not only to other worlds, but into my own." -- Anna Quindlen

"The expert in anything was once a beginner." -- The College Board

"The true strength in our classroom lies in the collaboration of learners not in the knowledge of one expert". -- We are Teachers

"A library is not a luxury but one of the necessities of life" -- Henry Ward Beecher

"If you can dream it, you can do it" -- Walt Disney

"It is the supreme art of the teacher to awaken joy in creative expression and knowledge" -- Albert Einstein

Supporting Agency: Franklin-Essex-Hamilton BOCES

"Lighting the way to the future"

More Information (Historical Sketch and BOCES Profile)

 

SLS Twitter Feed

 

Libraries Ready to Code

Recently, ALA and Rosen Publishing released the video, "Libraries Ready to Code." The video shows different coding activities in public and school libraries and shows how libraries can increase access to computer science learning opportunities for youth.  This video can be used as an advocacy tool to increase awareness of library coding activities  at all levels.  To read the full article from ALA as well as the vide, "Libraries Ready to Code," click here.  You can also see the video below.

 

Student Research Awards contest


The New York State Archives invites students statewide to enter the 27th Annual Student Research Awards Contest. The contest is open to all New York State students in grades 4 – 12 who use historical records in their research projects. The deadline for entries is July 1, 2017. Three awards will be presented in the fall of 2017.

The Student Research Awards Contest is designed to encourage students to explore the wealth of historical records found across New York State and to increase cooperation between schools and organizations that manage historical records.  Examples of historical records include letters, diaries, photographs, board meeting minutes, police and court records, ledgers, census records, deeds, and wills. The State Archives has a variety of instructional videos showcasing how to find and use historical records on its website.

For more information on this contest, please visit the New York State Archives website.

    School Librarians and the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA)

    On December 10, 2015 the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) was signed into law.  School libraries are included in many of the provisions, where it ensures that "effective school libraries" are addressed in state and local plans.  

    The American Association of School Librarians (AASL) will continue to examine ESSA and how it will ultimately affect the school library community.  They will also work in conjunction with ALA and other educational organizations to find opportunities within ESSA  for school library programs. 

    Click on the links below to read further about ESSA and school libraries:

    SLJ 2016 Movers and Shakers

    Click the image above to view this years Movers & Shakers!

     

    SLS Professional Material Highlight of the Month

    For additional new titles please view the New Items List on the Franklin-Essex-Hamilton School Library System OPALS.

     

    Cover Art
    Teaching Elementary Information Literacy Skills with the Big6? - Joyce Needham
    ISBN: 9781586833268
    Publication Date: 2008-11-01
    This book is a terrific new addition to the Big6 line Rich with ideas and applications, this volume is a comprehensive guide for using the Big6 in elementary schools. This current, up-to-date resource has everything needed to apply the Big6 to the elementary curriculum Includes strategies and lessons never published before Learn how the Big6 coordinates with reader's and writer's workshops Written by a Big6 practitioner and trainer, the book includes strategies and lessons not included in other Big6 books.It is designed to provide a roadmap for both teachers who are just learning to apply the Big6 strategies to veteran Big6 users.Use the book to make the information literacy process meaningful and exciting to all elementary students and watch students learn to solve real life problems."

    Cover Art
    Think Tank Library - Mary Boyd Ratzer; Paige Jaeger
    ISBN: 9781610699884
    Publication Date: 2015-01-01
    Transform your library into a "think tank" by helping teachers create an active learning environment in which students question, investigate, synthesize, conclude, and present information based on Common Core standards. * Provides diverse, brain-friendly, and field-tested lesson plans that feature thinking targets, texts, and standards and enhance students' deep thinking skills * Presents a school-library focus driven by inquiry process and information literacy skills * Features graphical illustrations and practical schemas that explain, illustrate, and model how brain-based learning works * Includes an extensive, research-based bibliography

    Cover Art
    Think Tank Library - Mary Boyd Ratzer; Paige Jaeger
    ISBN: 9781610699907
    Publication Date: 2014-12-01
    Transform your library into a "think tank" by helping teachers create an active learning environment in which students question, investigate, synthesize, conclude, and present information based on Common Core standards. * Includes relevant, rigorous, fun, and field-tested lesson plans for multiple disciplines * Provides reproducible pages to allow librarians and teachers to easily use a lesson * Offers a K–5 scaffolding approach to teaching information literacy skills * Features graphical illustrations and practical schemas that explain, illustrate, and model how brain-based learning works

    Cover Art
    Transmedia Storytelling - Amanda S. Hovious
    ISBN: 9781440838484
    Publication Date: 2015-11-10
    This practical and thorough guide offers clear explanations of what transmedia storytelling is and shows how it can be integrated into library programming that fosters multimodal literacy with K–12 learners. * Offers the first practical guide to transmedia storytelling that gives librarians new ways to create excitement in the library, engage learners, and foster multiple literacies * Provides complete, step-by-step guidelines for transmedia-rich library programs * Introduces new areas of research and best practices in technology integration wholly applicable to libraries * Covers topics such as new literacies, participatory storytelling, learning through gamification, maker programs, using digital badges to motivate young learners, and more

    SLS LibGuide Contact Information

    Profile Image
    Franklin-Essex-Hamilton School Library System
    Logo - LinkedIn
    Contact Info
    Karie Doelger, Director
    Maureen Benware, Secretary to Program Administrator
    Alisha Wheeler, Itinerant Librarian
    Bethaney Cotten, Itinerant Librarian

    23 Huskie Lane
    Malone, NY 12953
    Phone: (518) 483-1697Send Email
     

    Website and Link Disclaimers

    Website Disclaimer - Information contained within the Franklin Essex Hamilton School Library System LibGuide is for educational and professional information purposes only.  The shared information has been provided with approval from the represented outside agencies to disseminate with those who may find the content of valid interest to their professional needs.  Throughout the LibGuide, many of the websites links are not under the direction of the Franklin Essex Hamilton School Library System, therefore the SLS does not have control over the nature, content, and/or availability of those sites; however, the SLS regularly updates the LibGuide and reviews the content shared.  Recognizing the value of diversity and free speech, the SLS makes online resources available to educational communities but does not edit or revise the information provided by the outside agencies as we do not own their content.  Our goal is to make every effort to ensure the accuracy of material shared, however, discrepancies may sometimes exist between printed and electronic information. 

    Link Disclaimer - Any information provided from, or to the external websites linked to the SLS LibGuide, is provided as a courtesy for education professionals.  The links should not be construed as an endorsement by Franklin Essex Hamilton SLS of the content or views, but rather as informational materials and resources to be shared within the Fair Use scope of copyrighted materials.   Permission to share information was requested and granted from institutions prior to sharing in this LibGuide.  

     

    School Library System Office

    sls1
     

    School Library Advocacy - NEW Website!

    Image result for school library advocacy

    Former editor of School Library Monthly, Deb Levitov and Christie Kaaland, Professor with Antioch University in Seattle have launched a new website called SchoolLibraryAdvocacy.org

    Earlier this week, the site kicked off the blog section with a post titled "Making Sense of the Reauthorization of ESEA and its impact on School Libary Programs".

    Please check out this impressive site and share with all professional colleagues!

     

    Ready to Read at New York Libraries

    *UPDATE*  The New York State Library has added several new resources to the Ready to Read at New York Libraries website under the Early Literacy Resources Page, inculding jbrary, Storytime Underground and more. 

    Ready to Read at New York Libraries is an initiative of the New York State Education Department designed to improve and expand the availability of high quality public library early learning services in local communities across the State. Families and caregivers will be provided with the knowledge needed to prepare their young children for their school years ahead.

    Karen Balsen is the Project Director for
    Ready to Read at New York Libraries. For more information,
    contact Karen at 518-486-2194; Fax: 518-486-5254.

     

    NYS Cultural Ed

    The purpose of NYSCulturalEd.org is to provide a secure place in which teachers and cultural organizations can find one another, collaborate, share resources, lesson plans and other related materials as well as demonstrate the value of their work and resources for all stakeholders. The site will also increase understanding of resources available through cultural institutions across the New York State. Here’s what you’ll find on the site: Cultural Institutions, Open Educational Resources, Lesson Plans, Best Practices, Social Collaboration and Upcoming Events.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip